When a negative brings so many positives…

Happy Sunday!

You may or may not have noticed, I have been missing for a few weeks. My phone broke, which prompted a full social media hiatus!

I enjoyed every minute of not being online. Without realizing or had come to a time where social media and I had fallen out of love. I was looking at numbers rather than interaction and I couldn’t sleep without reaching that perfect number.

Now I’m back I feel refreshed and less bothered by numbers. I want to post good things!

Things I noticed with no phone

  • slept better
  • I watched a full TV show
  • I played with Holly more
  • I enjoyed the birds singing
  • I didn’t wake up and check my phone
  • I didn’t pretty my food up for pics
  • I had more conversations
  • I watched less TV
  • I relaxed in the bath
  • I read the back of the air freshener in the loo
  • I read real books
  • I watched the news & weather on TV 
  • I didn’t do things just so I could take a picture

Whilst it was a wonderful break and it did show me how obsessed I was becoming, I’m grateful to be able to write again and have somewhere to write my lists!

Would you cope with a sudden social media break?

Love Sooz x

17 Comments Add yours

  1. abhiray59 says:

    Ability to see positives in all situation makes a good human being g.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. David says:

    I took myself off Facebook after the USA 2016 Presidential Election. I haven’t missed it one bit.

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Hm, I’m guilty of many of those things on your list. Maybe I need to go without SM for a while?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Rogue_5 says:

    I’m not on FB anymore and only use Instagram and even then it’s not a post a day! Social media is becoming a blight on society in my opinion!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Barbara says:

    Interesting to see so many people are leaving facebook, I have contemplated doing the same several times. I don’t think I would miss it. Glad to see you back.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. carolynl1983 says:

    I love taking social media breaks. I’ll delete FB off my phone from time to time just because it gets annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Good for you! I hate being “plugged in” 24/7…it’s just not natural. It prevents me from being fully present.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Welcome back!! Sounds blissful, I may just have to break my phone 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Gave up on social media on and off for over a year, now I don’t have any smart devices stealing away my attention and my time. I check things when I want. I’d recommend going notification free as much as possible, maybe start with Sundays / weekends then whenever you can. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I wondered where you had gone. Glad everything is ok.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. SalAA says:

    I’m glad you’re back, and that your absence was phone related rather than health or the dreaded “unforeseen circumstances.” My phone broke recently and I ended up carrying two old phones around with me, one that worked for calls and texts and one that worked for my apps! Perhaps I should have taken the opportunity for a social media detox! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The air freshener bit made me chortle! Glad to have you back 🙂 I have breaks from social media from time to time, still trying to work out exactly how to make it all work for me in a way that suits me. Funnily enough I wrote a blog post on it this the other day!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Great post! I am just starting this blog stuff, so it’s a bit comforting to see a seasoned blogger write about taking breaks. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Good to have you back. I periodically take breaks from Facebook and don’t miss it one little bit. I go out for more walks and take more photos without having to ‘check in’ anywhere or look for somewhere with free wifi and it’s great. I use instagram to look at art that interests me more but I have no desire to be online 24/7 anymore and check things when I can be bothered 😊❤️ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Alysha Marie says:

    I love our camping weekend’s for this reason. Unplug and reconnect.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Nkeoma DND Agu says:

    I think we all need planned social media breaks once in a short while. 13 things!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Social media breaks have so many benefits that we often overlook them. I’m glad you got to unplug even for a short time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

