I feel bad for eating meat

After yesterdays honest post… I feel like I’m on a roll!

Meat… I eat meat at some point every day, and I feel so bad. I know I’m eating an animal and Im grateful for it. I love bacon but almost cry when I see a pig afterward. 

I obviously adore animals. I adore my meat meals. But I hate the way I feel afterwards. 

When I did some work experience in 2009, part of my job was animal husbandry. We raised chickens,knowing they would end up on the table. I was then offered the chance to be shown how to humanely kill and prepare the chicken to eat. I raised it from an egg to the day everyone enjoyed it on their plates. Although I felt sad, it was all on me. It felt better knowing that I did it all.

Last year I went meat free for a month and my vitamin levels became quite low. I didn’t really crave meat though.  I found alternatives. 

Am I just stuck in a routine or is it ok to eat and enjoy meat without feeling horrendous? 

My favourite meat is lamb,but could I choose a lamb from a field? no. Is this my brain telling me that my conscience is actually far stronger than me need for meat in my life.

Does meat then inlcude fish? 

L is a health induced vegetarian. Her body just doesnt want meat. Would it be easier if we could both eat the same meals? 

Is it just me who feels guilty? 

Love Sooz x

53 thoughts on “I feel bad for eating meat

  1. I feel similar to this. I tried to be vegan for about a year, and it wasn’t working for my body. I came to the conclusion that sacrificing my own health to stop the suffering of animals was causing me to suffer. Now I try to limit the amount of meat and animal products to only what I truly need for my health. Usually, I eat meat 3 times a week, and have a serving of dairy every day. I also try to source these products humanely as possible. I eat mostly fish, eggs, and some poultry, rarely ever pork or beef. I try to express gratitude for each animal that I must take from. I know it’s not ideal, it’s not what I truly want to do. How do you do your meat consumption?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. here is an interesting thought. yesterdays post was “why do I put so much pressure on myself, and today ou adit to feeling guolty of eating animals but not being able to go vegetarian. so I come back and ask: why do you put so much pressure on yourself? what is your payback? (and yes there is one, oelse you wouldnt do it). not to be unsensible here. it is how we honor the food we consume that helps or hurts the web of life, not just what we consume. #StrictMotivation

    Liked by 5 people

  3. I feel the same guilt you do Sooz. I tend to eat more chicken and fish, which don’t bother me, but I do feel guilty when I eat beef or pork, which is generally only once or twice a week. I don’t eat lamb or deer, and would never eat buffalo. I wish I could just give up red meat completely, and I honestly don’t much care for steak or ham. I hate Prime rib, as I cannot tolerate any fat on my meat. Most of the beef I eat is in the form of ground beef, whether it be in a hamburger or in spaghetti sauce, tacos, or some other dish. It’s a real dilemma.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What makes you think plants don’t feel pain? Of course they do!
      Break the limb of a plant and it will leak for a few seconds then the plant will make an enzyme that will seal the break so more sap is not lost. Not only that but it may well be that the limb will abandon that stem back to the next node.

      Most plants will turn their leaves to face the sun. That is the same thing. The nerves were triggered by the heat of the sun and the plant turned its leaves to face it.

      What triggers all that to happen? Pain. Pain is just a registration of a response to stimulus by the nervous system.
      Go google “Mimosa pudica” and watch a video on it.

      Oh… That cut grass small so many people enjoy is the life sap. dwell on that for a second.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Check out Edgarsmission.org.com.au. I’ve been vegetarian for 3 years now. I don’t miss meat at all there are plenty of alternatives. My goal this year is to be vegan by the end of the year. I’m working on eliminating dairy at the moment. I wouldn’t tell you what to do, that is up to you. But if you feel bad about it, perhaps you could do some research and give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Sooz,
    I don’t know how you feel about what I’m going to say and if you want to disregard it, I will not be offended.
    As you know, I’m a believing Jew. I believe that G-d made the world and us in it and the animals and everything else. Within I believe that the Creator of everything gave people permission to eat animals, and that is why they provide us with the nutrients we need for living. It is all one complex designed system. That is why I don’t feel any guilt about eating animals. I also know they have been killed in the most humane way.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Theres so many good comments and Im always happy to see others’ point of view! Please don’t feel like you Cant write something. Its a good way of looking at it. Definitely need ro give it some thought! Thankyou! Love Sooz x

      Like

  6. Oh yes, I often feel the same. For a while now we’ve been having one meat free day a week, and I’m trying to increase that. I tell myself that these particular animals wouldn’t have been born if they hadn’t been bred for food, and I talk to my local butcher so I’m aware of the conditions the animals I eat live in. But I feel like a hypocrite, why do I care what conditions they live in when they’re going to be killed anyway?

    Liked by 2 people

  7. We as a family are trying to eat less meat more because of health then the point about conditions of the animals that are brought to our tables. We most of the time just eat meat 2 – 3 times a week. I believe that animals (as someone said above) were put here for us to eat. You shouldn’t feel guilty about eating them but you should appreciate the fact they gave up their existence for you to have that bacon, steak, hamburger…etc. We eat more chicken then beef or other meats mostly because of the price of meats around here. That’s not to say we don’t eat hamburgers or the like, It’s just that chicken is the cheaper one and when you live on a budget you look for what will give you the most and chicken seems to be the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good Morning,
    Here is some food for thought. Rather than being sad that the animal died, be thankful that it lived and is now providing you nutrients. The native Americans tried to use as much of the animal as possible and have great respect for animals.

    There is a cycle of life, we are a part of that cycle. A bird, eats a fish, that ate smaller fish, that ate flies, that ate who knows what or plants, and then the plants use the nutrients in the earth that come from things that have died and have been broken down by bacteria or worms. It just goes on and on.

    In short, I guess, don’t waste the life of the animal. It is a good thing that you are mindful of the life of the animal. Respect it by giving thanks that it lived. Don’t be wasteful of what it has given.

    Liked by 4 people

  9. You should probably stop eating meat if it is making you feel guilty. On the other hand you could change your mind set. Recognize that your body needs it and that God has given meat at food for humans. Rather than feeling guilty, you could trust His provision and eat meat with thanksgiving.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Personally I don’t feel bad… As long as the animal DID NOT SUFFER.
    Here in the UK we don’t have the animal welfare problems they do in the US. Even the horrid chicken farms are rare now.
    We buy our meat from a local farm. Our eggs come from a guy where the wife works who has chickens. All well kept animals. When they are slaughtered they are done in a humane manner.

    One thing you have to understand is that you were born to eat meat. You are an omnivore. Open your mouth and you will see both cutting and grinding teeth. Your body is set up to digest meat. Not only that… The ONE SINGLE REASON we the intelligent hairless apes we are is that we learned to cook the meat we eat. Without that change we would not have the brain mass we do now.
    Now… Is that a reason to carry on eating meat? No. If you don’t want to eat meat then go ahead and leave it out of your diet. I have to admit that we here have many meals that don’t have meat in them. We are not vegetarians by ANY stretch of imagination!

    The question is… “Should you feel bad?” No… No you should not. And anyone that tries to make you feel that way is doing you a disservice.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. I try to look at it from a scientific standpoint — I’m an omnivore. I need meat to survive. Does the lion feel bad for killing and eating a gazelle? Nope. It knows it needs meat. Does my cat feel bad for killing and eating the top half of a mouse, then leaving the bottom half for me to clean up. Not really.

    I know that sounds a bit cruel. We are separated from our meat by nice, shiny grocery stores.

    My dad was a bow hunter. I’ve watched him kill and clean an animal, that was alive the day before. Yes, it was sad. But that meat fed us for a few months.

    I do believe in animal welfare and sincerely hope all the meat I eat is killed humanely. I feel we owe it to the animal to give them a good life before we eat them. Especially if they are raised for slaughter.

    Just a thought….

    Hope you have a good weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. like said by so many others here, it’s ok to feel guilty about it. I look at my meat eating as an essential part of my diet and the fact that I buy food that I know is gathered inhumanely bothers me too but you gotta reach a balance for yourself. I’m married with 3 kids, concessions have to be made for my budget unfortunately. I know there are ways around my dilemma but we’re only human, it’s ok to give yourself a break on things.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Vegan/vegetarian for 40 years! It’s a wonderful way to live: for me, for the animals and for the planet. Watch Cowspiracy on Netflix. Quite informative and inspiring. Start slowing giving up red meat, then chicken then fish. You will feel better for it! xo

    Liked by 2 people

  14. I think you are on the right path, Sooz 🙂
    I felt exactly like you some years ago. Now I do not ever eat meat (but some fish, still (sushi !!) :-/ , and my health is quite sound. My daughter has become entirely vegan, and she feels better than ever !
    Good luck and best regards !!

    Liked by 2 people

  15. We were born to eat a varied diet, part of that is meat. I try to source my meat as ethically as possible, along with my dairy products. I do what I can. It’s a personal choice but I couldn’t go meat free. I do think we could all help though by eating less meat throughout the week. I often eat vegetarian meals and generally only have meat a few times a week.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Firstly, this is a very brave post to make and admit you feel guilty, I think it is so great that you have been honest about how you feel and are acknowledge your feelings about quite a touchy subject. It is natural to feel guilty after eating meat. I just want to clarify first that I am a vegetarian and I do not eat meat. I stopped eating meat a long time ago because I love animals and do not believe we should eat them for scientific and ethical reasons. I do not want to preach, as vegetarians already get a bad wrap for being preachy, but it is becoming more and more acknowledged that we do not need meat and there are so many vegetarian alternatives that are cheaper and taste just as good if not better.

    There is a common misconception that we are omnivores; this is not true. Humans are natural herbivores. People will say “but we have canines”. Yes we do, but not like that of Lions-Think about it; would you eat an animal as it is? Like, would you run up to a pig and bite and chew its raw flesh? The very likely answer is no. In fact, our hands are perfect for grabbing and picking fruits and vegetables. Similarly, like the intestines of other herbivores, ours are very long (carnivores have short intestines so they can quickly get rid of all that rotting flesh they eat). We don’t have sharp claws to seize and hold down prey. And most of us (hopefully) lack the instinct that would drive us to chase and then kill animals and eat their raw carcasses. In truth, and I am sorry if this offends anyone, but i find that the only people who now say this are those who eat meat and are trying to justify it, because deep down they know it is inhumane. My boyfriend eats meat and even he accepts that, well, you shouldn’t.

    Yes, thousands of years ago when we were hunter gatherers and there was scarcity, a little bit of meat was needed in our diets, but that is just not the case anymore. In fact, our over-consumption of meat is killing us. Yes, most of us are “behavioral omnivores”—that is, we eat meat, so that defines us as omnivorous. But our evolution and physiology are herbivorous, and science proves that when we choose to eat meat, that causes problems, from decreased energy and a need for more sleep up to increased risk for obesity, diabetes, heart disease, and cancer. It is a fact, not an opinion. So, if ethical reasons are not enough, please look at the health reasons. Most veggies I know became veggies for health reasons and not ethical, but upon learning about animals and the meat and dairy industry, they cared about the ethical reasons also. It is a very outdated belief that we should eat meat and it really is killing us and our environment.

    Please try watching Forks over Knives/Cowspiracy/Vegucated on Netflix. This is the best thing for the animals, the environment and ourselves. Trust me, you will never feel better when you give up meat! It is actually very easy to do when you have a bit of knowledge about it behind you. You will never feel guilty again. I really wish you the best of luck on your journey and I truly hope you find this comment useful. Please feel free to message me, I am more than happy to discuss this with you and help you!

    Some useful links are:
    https://www.forksoverknives.com/7-things-that-happen-when-you-stop-eating-meat/

    https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2010/jul/18/vegetarianism-save-planet-environment

    Liked by 2 people

  17. My boyfriend is a vegetarian as well, and so at home we don’t eat meat. Allthough after some negociation he decides fish is ok 🙂 so we have fish like 2 or 3 times a weak and vegetarian the rest. At lunch I do sometimes eat a sandwich with meat though.

    I do feel guilty sometimes when I think about how the animal are sloughtered and treated in big industries. I used to work on a farm a while and I didn’t have any problem eating the lambs we raised because I knew they were happy and didnt suffer…

    So when I buy meat I try to buy biological or locally produced meat, but since I don’t eat it very often anyway I feel OK with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Okay, eating meat aside, I LOVE THE PHOTO! Did you do that or did you find it on line? Cool, expressive image. As for eating meat, I don’t really like meat, but I do eat it mostly because my husband is a carnivore and the work of creating TWO MEALS is more than I can handle. What I do try to do is prepare healthy balanced meals. We’re older folks so portion size has diminished considerably from what we used to eat and our biggest meal is midday or thereabouts. I think I’ve gone off topic here, but thanks for the post. Love your writing style.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Great post!

    Eating meat does not make you less than. Eating meat does not make you evil. It’s good to have a diverse diet, meat and vegetable. I honor the animal who gave its life so I can eat. I don’t waste it. I eat it and appreciate it. I don’t put down others who choose not to eat meat, either. No one should poo on anyone’s choice of meal. As for feeling bad? Feeling bad after eating a wonderful meal that fed you destroys the whole point of enjoying your meal and the animal’s life was then in vain. The only thing I don’t appreciate are those who make a point of making another feel bad for their meal choice. What I found very telling was your point about how your vitamin levels dropped low. We are meant to eat balanced all around meals, that includes meat, seafood, vegetables, fruit and grain.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. You already have 47 comments, allow me to add one more haha…

    Well… should you feel guilty? The question is, why do you feel guilty exactly? Because animals die?
    The main reason to eat less meat, from a non-vegetarian perspective, is probably that the production of meat costs incredible amounts of resources, including water, and feed maybe from soy beans, which often take up huge reserves of land where other type of vegetation could be growing (rainforest). The transport of the feed alone causes quite a lot of pollution, if I´ve been informed correctly.

    That, rather than cruelty to animals, would be my reason to eat less meat (I was vegetarian for about four years, then went back to eating meat from time to time). If animals being slaughtered is what bothers you about eating meat, then diminishing your consumption could also help feel less guilty about that.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I was a vegetarian for several years, then gradually returned to meat. I try for grass fed, free-range, etc. as much as possible. I figure if we were all vegetarians then the cows and chickens we’re eating would never have lived at all, so here’s my argument: Is it better to be a cow and die as food than never to have lived at all? Lame argument maybe, but it’s what I’ve got.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Pigs are too smart to eat. I’ve been a vegetarian for 26 years. I started out for health reasons, but after seeing how meat is produced in this country, they could tell me that steak was better than medicine and I still wouldn’t eat it.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. You’re not alone. Daily I contemplate going vegetarian. According to peta, a staggering 51 percent or more of global greenhouse-gas emissions are caused by animal agriculture. But can’t there be medium ground somewhere? Where’ve we eat less meat, sourced from a sustainable humane farm. It’s impressive you raised a chicken from an egg and saw it all the way to the table. By doing this, you accepted responsibility for its life. I have never done such a thing, not sure I could, but then if I’m unable to take responsibility, then I should be unable to eat it too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

