Commenting…

I read a tweet last night and it bothered me (probably because I already feel guilty about it) …. 

The tweet said… And I’m paraphrasing here as my memory is horrendous! 

Why do these blog people not answer a simple comment, do they think they’re above us because they have a few hundred followers and want to be blog famous, it takes two seconds to write a reply. 

It made me think, as I do get quite a few comments in a day and I really struggle to reply. I try and like each one and I read every single one. 

I’m ridiculously grateful to anyone who reads my ramblings let alone interacts. My blog isn’t to make me ‘famous’ (I don’t know how that works but… Hey?!) it’s selfishly to offload and to write my feelings down, but also to interact with people I would never even see in my every day life. Either because of location or my crippling anxiety. 

Knowing someone has gone through something similar or has a new viewpoint is lovely. 
Most social media requires some kind of reaction… Likes, Views,  Reactions, Shares, reblog, retweets, comment likes, pm’s, dm’s…. It goes on! 

We, social media users feel enough pressure. 

So if you don’t reply to me,and I don’t reply… It’s ok. 

But I will always read every comment! 

Love Sooz x

41 thoughts on “Commenting…

  1. Eh…Sometimes, I think there are people that truly need attention. The reality, of course, is that time is limited and as more and more comments appear, the ability to answer each one goes down. Overwhelmingly, bloggers are not paid, which means a lot of their lives are dedicated to where they make money.

    I make it a personal endeavor to reply to comments, but I also know I can’t get every one. It’s hit and miss sometimes.

    Liked by 4 people

      1. I’m lucky , no one comments on my posts 😂 . But , who is this person to say , and I don’t think you should give this person a 2nd thought . It’s 1 opinion and sounds like a jilted love or something . Who knows who didn’t respond to him . But it’s that way in all media . Just because I comment to someone in twitter does that make it more likely I’ll get a reply ? And someone else’s comment , what’s it take to tweet compared to blog . You get about 5 words with hashtags , that no one looks at .

        Liked by 2 people

  2. That’s hysterical! I get upset because no one follows me on Twitter. I think I’ve been muted by the company in general. lol I try not to go on there much. I let my blog posts show up there and once in awhile I’ll take a look but I’m a little too sensitive to get caught up in it. You can only do what you can do. From what I see it’s more than enough.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. That was both funny and sad. And with that said let me whine the other way … I have 200 followers and why isn’t each and every one not commenting on my each and every post?! What?!? Do they not have time for me?! KIDDING!!!!!!!! 😉

    Liked by 4 people

  4. I’ve always had a policy to reply to a comment until the conversation ends. I feel that if someone I’ve never met was kind enough to take the time out of their day to write a comment, I should return the favor! I’m not perfect at it, but I try to make it a priority. 🙂 I understand both sides, though.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. When I look and see there’s something I CAN respond to, I will–or I’ll put it down to respond later if I have to. The trouble is, sometimes I really want to respond right away, and I know I’m shooting myself in the foot if I do because it won’t come out right or it was a post intended to provoke and I was about to fall into the trap. Nope–I’ll do what I can to respond, but sometimes, there just aren’t words. The beauty of writing is you should be able to take your time and send just the right thing out (but that doesn’t always happen–I get impatient and then have to spend just as long making corrections).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I try to comment on many of the blog posts I read, and realize that for those bloggers like yourself whose posts receive many, many comments, it’s a challenge for you to respond to every single one, and that’s OK. What frustrates me more is that my own blog posts receive few comments. And an even bigger pet peeve is that many bloggers apparently only click ‘like’ if they actually like the content of the post (which makes sense I guess). But my practice is that if I take the time to read another blogger’s post, I just always click the ‘like’ button to show them I stopped by and looked at their post. At the end of the day, we all want validation, don’t we?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You’ve been very responsive to me — I don’t think it’s a “too big for their britches” type thing. As people who blog, we have lives too. My internet situation is tenuous, so I am not always able to respond.

    But sometimes, when I’m in a rush and don’t have internet on anything but my phone, I’ll like a comment to acknowledge I’ve read it and approve, and later comment when I’m at my desk and not typing with my thumbs. I think folks appreciate a cogent response free of typos and autocorrect mistakes rather than a prompt reply. And sometimes, I like to think my replies out before I post them.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I decided to reduce my social media presence significantly as it was almost controlling my daily life. I began to obsess over whether anyone had seen my pictures, or liked my status update etc.
    Combine this with my ongoing anxiety and this became a recipe for disaster. I found that through this site I can offload exactly how I feel and allow myself to be completely anonymous at the same time. It is a wonderful community on here and such a blessing to know I’m not alone in my issues.
    I’m not always able to respond but I do try and like the comments people leave me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I do try to reply to comments, because someone has taken the time to make a comment to me. However, blogging and social media can be used in many ways. I am not offended if you don’t reply to me. If I choose to read your post and comment, as far as I am concerned that is the end of it. Don’t feel you have to do anything, there is no pressure.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Yeah, I get that. I’m a relative newby to this, but would imagine replying to comments could eat up a lot of time. I think people get that (at least I would hope). People have lives. I enjoy the writing, but this doesn’t rule or control me. I do this without any expectations because I like to write. That’s it. Good post. Very honest.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I don’t get nearly as many comments as I see others get, so I’m grateful for each and every one as well as every follow. I think for most of us it’s less about popularity or what have you and more about our words being well-received and, if we’re lucky, meaningful interactions with other intelligent or interesting people, y’know?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What must one do when the replies cut off the conversation. Some comments are meant to stay like that, they leave nobroom for conversation and I feel like if someone is going to reply me I want it to be personal not something out of obligation.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I just started my blog less than a month ago and am overwhelmed by everything the “experts” say to do. Respond to every comment, be active on social media, become an expert in forums, join groups, produce digital products, etc. I can’t imagine what it takes for someone to actually do all of that. I think bloggers are giving so much already just by putting the initial info out there. They’re not customer service representatives, paid to answer every tiny (and often unrelated) question. If I ask a question and receive a response, awesome. But I don’t expect a response if I haven’t asked anything.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Well, to the fella who tweeted that, I’d like to write back- Us, ‘blog people’ have lives! We just don’t sit around and blog all day. We sometimes may take weeks to reply to comments (or even post on the blog), but we’ve our reasons an’ the dear readers who take the time to comment on a post also need to be patient and take time to wait for a reply as well. Even if we don’t reply, just know we appreciate each comment an’ like, dearest readers.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I’ve always looked at the coments section with awe. How can anyone with 100 followers find the time to reply to them all? We have busy lives, even those of us with less than 100 followers! We can’t expect that our comments will get a response right away of even at all. I thought this was generally accepted but apparently that person you paraphrased is seeking more than just an outlet to connect through – they are seeking validation. They “need” to be recognized. And that is another matter completely. Perhaps they should blog about that! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always make sure I like each comment! It started when I tried to comment back to everyone and it became a chore, thats when I knew that I had to take it easy. Especially with other social media too,I was in danger of becoming deeply obsessed. I still see it as one of my downfalls, that I do care about likes ,content, comments,interaction and peoples lives.

      Thankyou for your comment. I do really appreciate it, and every comment/like etc… I receive! Love Sooz x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve just started blogging and I am on Faecebook too and I, too, have found it easy to get caught up in all the workings of it. I can’t imagine how I will manage if and when I have a lot of comments to read/reply to.

        I do enjoy reading and commenting on blogs. It’s a way to make the world a little more personal and intimate.

        Peace 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  16. i have had mental health probs for years and have always liked writing i write a blog kinda as think helps me if i know that helps others fine but i actually think is good to get all yoru feeling down !! i write just how i feel as that to me is what is important i think the majority of bloggers write cos enjoy it and nothing more !!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. This is so true.
    Since I started my blog… I have been better with my diet, I am happier as I’m free from my intolerances and I have a plan I have to stick to know because I’ trying to send out info that might help someone else feel better.
    You send out such a positive message… No, I’m not trying to be famous either – I’m just trying to be gluten dairy free and that’s hard enough to do… I got your corner girl!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

