Exercising when you’re fat.

I apologise that lately,I havent really been writing so much. I’ve had maybe a sprinkle of laziness with a glug of writers block… 

But here is a written blog. 

Fat people do exercise. Nope don’t Pass out. Fat people go to the gym,they run (well, not this fat person). It might surprise you but I wasnt always this fat…

 However, even when I exercised 4-5 times a week I was a toned 18-20. I was 16 years old. Parents of other swimmers  gave well meaning advice (I get internally angry about it now), low fat recipes in the changing room. My friends didn’t mention it or if they did it was my humour trying to cover my sadness. Now I look back and see that i’m so sad. I was the fat girl and it broke my heart and my confidence. 

But it showed me that other peoples Perception of fat is different to your own,I feel like I don’t understand why other people were so concerned. I was bigger…Although then I felt like a hippo in a swimming costume, but I was me. 

Working out for me is rarely a public spectacle. My belly, thighs and occasionally my arm skin will join in to clap along – which as fun as it sounds actually really hurts. If I do a burpee im in danger of a body tsunami knocking me out.

 Its not fun and my tummy swinging mid air is not particularly comfortable.I end up with sweat rash especially under my ever south heading crepey boobs! So its incredibly important I tailor my exercise to suit me and my body. 

Underneath all my skin/fat I actually have fairly decent muscle tone – it’s just hiding! 

My method of working out… Is one I do all day… If i’m sitting down I do some weights or waiting for then kettle boiling a few push ups and squats. 

I do youtube videos whilst I have a free 10-15 minutes. 

Being fat when you don’t want to be isn’t fun. But the misconception that fat people are lazy and lie on  the sofa cramming an entire family packet of crisps in 24/7 is obviously wrong! 

Many fat people do go the gym, but it’s what is right for you. My only advice is start small and build up. 

Be kind. 

Love Sooz x

32 thoughts on “Exercising when you’re fat.

  1. Hi hope your sunday is good I have gain weight always and is trying my hardest to go back to my normal size, I hate the gym cause in my head it seems as if the gym is for people who are already perfect! Hahaha silly me but since late last year I started drinking water lemon water with ginger, I use Leslie sansone three mile walk and fitnessblender it’s a tedious task but I’m getting there, wishing all the best on your fitness journey

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never had a daunting weight issue. Exercise, for me, is for ME! It is MY time, MY renewal, and MY discipline. Ultimately it is for MY satisfaction and aliveness. Go!

    Like

  3. You are an inspiration. Going to the gym is not my scene at all. I’ve been fit and I’ve been overweight. Exercising when overweight is no fun at all. There are many reasons for being overweight and finding yours can be more of a challenge than anything else. No one knows your struggle the way you do. Do what you can when you feel up to it. That’s the best you can ever do. The hell with what people think. I agree with Brizzielass too, walking is the best exercise. No gyms thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The elliptical is my best friend. Just got a gym membership this morning and I’m really excited to get back into a routine so I can lose weight. 🙂 Lovely advice! I always go by the very easy phrase of “you do you”.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. People make dumb assumptions, like that they can change and control everything when they have very little information on the other person. I have been beaten in every triathlon I have ever finished by large women who were not embarrassed to use their muscles to power through the course. Good idea to exercise outside of a gym because that’s where people of all shapes are, in the fresh air.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. the secret to excersize is to find YOUR own regiment, and not to obsess and compare yourself with what others do, or look like. there is no need nor push for it being public – nor is there any law under which’s theory a certain bodytype may appear unfit to excersize. your perception forms your subjective reality and that is the prison you are building yourself. knowck down those bars and walls that hold you back. you created them, you can make them disappear the same – if you started walking, regularly, in a a normal pace, that would be a giant step. later you can access a public building and use their deserted staircase. walking stairs down first. use the lift to go up, and walk down one flight of stairs, then two, than thjree. Until walking them all down is easy. Then you try going one flight UP, then two. until that is easy. if uncomfy of being seen you need no gym to work out. what you need is consistancy of effort. #StrictMotivation

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hey! I’m a fat guy and I totally can relate to what you’re saying. One thing that always drives me crazy is that I lead a super active life, but if I spend one lazy Saturday on the couch, family and friends will bring it up. Lately I’ve been doing a low sugar, low carb, high protein diet and its been working wonders so hopefully I can keep it up! Hope you have a good night ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A really good post! I started working out and turning my life around when I weighed around 165 kilos or so, more intensely going to the gym and working out when my weight was 157 kilos.. It was challenging and I felt silly for a long time and hurt where I wasn’t supposed to. It is nice to read about other heavy weighted/fat people who are really working towards health. Actually in my experience not many fat people are lazy, there are many many things leading to weight gain.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you for the post! 🙂 My pleasure commenting. My weight is now at 137 but steadily going down and life feels quite amazing. Take care and be well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I used to have a gym membership and often found myself feeling really self conscious that people were starting at me. I did soon learn that most people are too busy focusing on what they’re doing to pay any attention to you, although the unease never fully went away. If anything I think that to see a “fat” person in the gym, regardless of what your perception of fat is, is a great thing though, because they are trying, you won’t help by making comments, even if you genuinely only intend to offer well meaning advice or low fat recipes. I think people also forget that it can be hard if you’re overweight. I struggle with pain in my knees and hips, and so running or anything that puts excessive strain on those joints isn’t really an option for me until I’ve lost some more weight (I do plan to start swimming, if I can bring myself to go to a public pool in a swimming costume). People need to stop and think – maybe they’re doing what they can, just because that isn’t a marathon doesn’t mean it’s not exercise.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

