One Distant Summer- Serena Clarke, a book review *****

One Distant Summer cover

Serena Clarke is a chick-lit author -that sounds so underrated, as her stories are filled with love, heat, sex and everyday feelings.

I downloaded my first book in 2015 on my kindle app, it was free,  I didn’t know I would end up with her as one of my favourite authors and people on Instagram. This is the third book I’ve read, and each is better than the last, which I didn’t think possible, as each one leaves me thinking about each character, their lives, their loves and what happens next!

I was sent an advanced copy of this novel to read, so I could write a review. However, even if I wasn’t, I would have bought it and written this very same post.

Cin Scott, the superstar alter ego of Jacinda Prescott needs a break from the bright lights of L.A she returns to the comfort of Nana Mac and her heavily pregnant cat Velvet’s home in New Zealand. With heat, sunshine, friendships and kittens it all seems so perfect. But will her teenage past catch up with her? Will she find love with someone unexpected?

I read this book so quickly, I must be honest and say that I’m not a big book reader, as I struggle to stay awake and my imagination is somewhat lacking. Serena enables me to imagine the scenes one by one, the characters, the setting and even the sounds.

I hope you enjoy this, and Serena’s other books as much as I have.

 

The book is released on 30th January 2017 and is available in various formats.

I have put various links to both this and Serena’s other work at the bottom of this post.

 

Love Sooz x

 

Serena Clarke on Facebook

Serena Clarke on Amazon

‘One Hot Summer’ on Amazon

‘A North so True’ on Amazon

 

 

 

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. what matters the most, on this journey of ours is not what others did to us, but how we carry ourselves through it. you discovering books that inspire and enrich your journey, is what will help you propel you past that which holds you back from your past. focus on the beneficiaries in your life, and let go your past, to create a more fulfilled living in the now #StrictMotivation

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bettermanbe says:

    Thank you for liking my article, I appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. CreativeMisfit says:

    sounds very interesting xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Inese Poga Art plus Life says:

    Certainly, sounds worth reading! https://inesepogalifeschool.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love reading your blogs! I have nominated you for the versatile blogger award…. https://youngsinglemumblogs.com/2017/02/01/versatile-blogger-award/ X

    Like

  6. lorieb says:

    hmmm, sound like a good “light reading” book, my favourite, will add it to my list, thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  7. nintendno says:

    Thanks for the like !

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hmm, it’s been a while since I really got to get into a good novel. I’m also here to inform you that I’ve nominated you for the Mystery Blogger award: https://anibproductions.wordpress.com/2017/02/10/the-mystery-blogger-award-a-surprising-honor/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou! I would definitely give it a read!

      Like

    2. Also… i will get around to doing the mystery blogger post! Xx

      Like

  9. theonein10 says:

    Howdy! I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check out my latest blog post for the details! I hope you accept and carry this award on! I hope you’re having a blessed Sunday! With much love, COL!

    Like

  10. Run Wright says:

    Looks interesting. I’ll check out the title.
    Following your blog now too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its really good! Love Sooz x

      Liked by 1 person

  11. The Happy Healthy Kiwi says:

    Speaking of New Zealand, we just got your Christmas card! We moved house in September but luckily they still haven’t rented the old house out and our old neighbour is still collecting the odd bit of mail that comes from us. So a belated thank you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brilliant! Im so glad it arrived! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

