Narnia

I love Narnia.

Specifically, The Lion, the Witch and the wardrobe. This began when I received the video tape from my parents as a kid, this was the 1988 tv series, which looking back had some absolutely amazing special effects for its time. With 18 episodes spread across different stories.

The story features the four Pevensey children, sent to the countryside as evacuees during the second world war.

During which time Lucy (The youngest) discovers a door to another world…. Capers and calamities galore, with a full anamatronic lion and cartoon fantasy creatures, oh and Mrs Pattmore from Downton Abbey dressed as a beaver!

The series has always brought a sense of comfort to me, and now if Narnia is on, you know it’s a particularly stressful period for me!
The music is spectacularly good.

Although I have full understanding of the religious undertone running throughout the Narnia series, it’s never been over powering and makes me believe in myself rather than anything else.

In 2012 Disney made 3 of the films (The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, Prince Caspian And Voyage of the Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair is in the early stages of being made) however, after the first I didn’t feel the films managed to capture that same magic. The first, whilst amazing, I felt tried too hard to be a film not a story. Wonderful actors/voices and animation just didn’t manage to rescue it.

Maybe that’s because I’m quite invested in the tv series?

The original character I feel

 most like is Lucy, I do have ever so slightly protruding teeth, but I always think there’s more, and I’m incredibly nosy and if there was a cupboard in a wardrobe, I would find it! I’m also the youngest, and had a little Bob hair cut.

C.S Lewis has written many books, but for me by far The Lion, the witch and the wardrobe is for me the best!

What is your favourite comfort show?

Love Sooz x

20 thoughts on “Narnia

  1. For comfort telly I tend to reach for my Father Ted box set. It was often inconsistent (especially the third series), but the good stuff is timeless and infinitely rewatchable even though I have them memorised by now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. eek! I’m reading the entire series for the first time. maybe we could have a discussion about it together as I read.

    I’ve completed “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe”, and I’m currently reading “Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia”. my partner will kill me if I didn’t read them in the order in which they were written, so that’s what I’m doing, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read the series to my kids when they were little. I had a great time. My oldest son told me when he saw the movies that he was disappointed because ReepaCheep (I don’t remember how to spell that) the mouse didn’t sound right. I had to laugh as I remember being quite the actress while reading it and gave the mouse quite a high voice.

    I liked the movies and don’t remember seeing a TV series. Guess I’ll have to look those up. I love this whole series of stories for the strength each of the children had to attain. And I loved that it was neither a male or female story but one that all children could relate to.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If you love the Narnia books, check out “Planet Narnia” – it’s a pretty scholarly work that gathers research from Lewis’ friends and other writings and transcripts and such to decode a lot of the symbols used throughout the books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

