My beauty ‘routine’

My beauty routine is frankly one step up from washing my face with dish soap and moisturizing with lard.

I’m not a 967 beauty products before breakfast kind of girl. I have no idea what 966 of them even do to start with.

I stick to what I know, I’m set in my ways, and I have skin that reminds me of an angry viper…!!

If I start at the top and work my way down… That might give it some kind of order!

Hair: I wash my hair with Ogx o2 shampoo and conditioner for fine limp hair.
I wash my hair every day-its a bad habit, one of a girl who used to sweat so much a daily shower was necessary.
I use a heat protection serum if I’m drying it!
I very occasionally use a repair mask
Face: I wash my face with a vitamin C facial wash, then use an oil free moisturiser. I pluck my eyebrows once a fortnight and my facial hair every other day.
I use Carmex lip balm and dry eye drops.
I wear make up sparingly and take it off as soon as I return home.

Body: Vaseline body moisturiser daily, hand and foot cream and nail oil. I use a scrub before I shave my legs, and a moisturizing shower gel.

Tada…. The end!

During my teens, I used every product known to man, all of My money went on cosmetics and beauty products. Most of them gave me a rash or brought out my teenage acne more. Now I’m very aware that keeping things simple, works.

I’m more aware of money also, spending money I just don’t have on beauty products is never going to be as good thing. Especially when there are such good budget products available.

Most products, if like my shampoo are slightly more expensive, I look for offers, use loyalty points or find coupons. I don’t stick with that exact same product each time for that reason.

It’s so important to know what works for you and not follow a trend. Skin always is at its best when it can breathe and its healthy from the inside out.

What are your beauty must haves?
Or
What are your budget saving tips?

Love Sooz x

37 thoughts on “My beauty ‘routine’

  1. I’m with you too, most of the time. I do tend to put on a little face powder and mascara if I am going out somewhere I will be interacting with people I know, but that’s mostly to cover up the lovely adult acne that won’t go away and to give my blonde eyelashes a visual reality.

    I used to be like you when I was younger, trying all the cosmetics. I still like to go all out sometimes. At one point I wanted to be a makeup artist, I used to do it for theater productions and for friends.

    Can’t live without my biore charcoal benzoyl peroxide facial scrub. daily. And my CVS brand Aveeno moisturizer knock-off.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone I know from roommates to boyfriends and my ex-husband where are amazed that I was capable of a three to five minute shower including hair washing. I absolutely cannot be myself without Paul Mitchell Tea Tree lavender Sage shampoo and conditioner. Or It Cosmetics. I have to have the bye bye Foundation, bye bye pores, bronzer lightener and no tug eyeliner. I wear blush and I love their Universal a pencil, but they make the worst mascara in the world. So I use Covergirl Clump Crusher πŸ™‚

    Usually by the time I get to putting on that eyeliner I’m rethinking entire life choices that have brought me to this point. I just started wearing makeup last year though and I really love the way I feel in it so I have to do it.

    I guess it’s better than feeling that way about, like, cocaine.

    Right?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I use Ivory soap. i moisturize maybe twice a year. I get my eyebrows and upper ;lip waxed once a month or so. I use SPF only if I’m on the beach, and only if I got burnt the previous day. I occasionally use mascara, and maybe a few times a year use powder concealer and lipstick. I used to wear all kinds of makeup when I was young. Now I can’t stand stuff on my face. I feel smothered when I wear it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I finally graduated to the use of coconut oil after hearing many GREAT reviews AND I use it everywhere That stuff is amazing. I wax my face because I can’t see to pluck anymore I keep Gold bond diabetic formula lotion ( as well as hand sanitizer ) in my office because I like to shake hands. I love my nails done because it makes my hands look great! I also use a smear of lip gloss Otherwise I am pretty LOW maintenance myself. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I totally agree with you! I mean trends are great, but if they don’t make you feel great in your own body then ditch it. I think too many girls are falling into the trap of believing beauty/fashion is simply following trends, but it isn’t, its more putting your own personal twist on trends! I love this post, as it reminds any readers that beauty is what you feel confident in.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. In my case – less is better. There are way too many products out there and all claim the same thing. I really feel you must use what works for you. I will soon be 70 which no one believes but I have followed the same regimen since I was in my 20s….cleanse always, moisturize always – whether it is your face, arms, legs or feet the damage that our atmosphere does is unbelievable. I use some makeup – especially eye makeup – I feel I have very small eyes that need some enhancement. (My products are always Avon; but then again I sell it also, so I am prejudice.)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Howdy!
    The wife and I just subscribed to your blog and am looking forward to reading product reviews and tips! We develop mobile apps for bloggers that allow your audience to connect with you directly at the touch of an icon. This is different from the WordPress app because the WordPress app is for the blogger, our apps are for your audience. Our apps are easy and fun and we are building them for no charge (until the end of summer) πŸ˜‰ If you are ever curious or want to step up your blog a bit please contact us anytime.
    Keep up the hard work and stay focused
    -Jacque’ Terrell

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love your post on Skin Care. Being a man, many think my skin is tougher, therefore needs less care, but in reality, I face many of the same problems as woman. Blackheads, Acne, and Premature Wrinkles are just the tip of the ice berg. Especially when i shave…. SHAVING BUMPS EVERYWHERE. That’s why i have been doing research on skin care, to discover methods for Home Skin Care. Could you visit my blog and tell me what you think?
    https://americanskin.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

