New year anxiety

Is it just me that isn’t only grumpy because if I hear the words “new year, New me” or “2017 is so going to be my year” I’m going to lose what is left of my sanity, but also because it feels like so much pressure.

I like to spread what I do out, not spend the whole of January eating kale and sweating to then realise its pancake day and eat my body weight in nutella!

Everyone focuses on the physical stuff, whereas I’m floating around thrilled it’s normal again, no tinsel draped everywhere, no not realising what day it is, and no weird programmes on at weird times on the tv.

I crave normality, if the pharmaceutical companies could make a normal pill, I would swallow it!

I intend to put the same effort into January as I did the last twelve months.

Whilst I wish everyone a very happy New year, I know any problem I had will not change at 12:00am on the 1st January, they will still be there. People, whether they are celebrities, family members or someone, somewhere is still going to die from an illness which should be cured.

I may be sounding like the negative Nancy fairy, and to be honest you might be right! A positive attitude will always get you further than a negative one. But I have to also take into account being practical and not getting into the false hope of January!

Well, I best finish writing and go and buy some kale, before it’s all gone. Ha!

Love Sooz xx

26 thoughts on “New year anxiety

  1. Well now negative nancy (!!), cheer up. This year is definitely my year. I’m gonna be 50 and I’ve never felt so positive. My business is growing steadily, I’ve got a great backup team, my kids are acing it and all is well. Ok so I’m not well, i hate the cold weather, I’ve still gotta put me deccies away but shit happens. I’ve decided I’m a late bloomer! Cheer the hell up and grab onto some positive girl, the only way is up ⬆️!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand it can be a little maddening, especially because everyone is so hyped about it but a few weeks in it fades. Personally, I just focus on myself. I’m happy for everyone and hope they have a plan in place to help them reach their 2017 goals. I set intentions and come up with little goals throughout the year that help me to complete the large intentions. Resolutions make me feel like things will spontaneously work out for themselves. Maybe it’s just me. So I have my intentions all set and my goals clear so I can take small steps each day that align with where I want to be not only at the end of this year but in my life in general. So don’t worry, the resolution conversation will die down soon. In the meantime, wishing you a healthy, happy, fulfilling year.

    Side note: I found you by searching the mental health tag, happy to meet you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree that most New Year’s resolutions are out the window by the 1st February, and New Year actually scares me a little as you never know what’s going to happen in 2017! However, what I like to remember is that 1st January is actually just a new day, and you can make the most of every new day in the year and make positive steps to achieve the things you want to! Hopefully you’ll feel more positive soon xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I get your point. It is very hard to change things drastically over night. That being said, my therapist always tells me to make little objectives or goals and aim to achieve them. I’d say that I have achieved some things in the last 12 months. My OCD was atrocious 12 months ago and I’d spend a good proportion of it sobbing. And I guess, with the new year, I feel like it’s a whole new 12 months to achieve some more things and build on the progress. I’m not expecting to be completely different but small permanent little developments would be welcome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I got given two massive bags of kale the other day. I’m the only one in the house who eats it so not quite sure how I’m going to get through it all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

