Ed’s Diner, Chester, Review

Ed’s diner is described on their Website as: 

“Ed’s is a much loved retro-American diner that successfully captures the spirit of the classic US originals, iconic symbols of an unforgettable period in the history of that country.

It was a time characterised by a feel-good, optimistic mood that influenced the music, the design and the culture of a unique era. Ed’s brings that story to life, at the same time delivering a quality eating experience at great value prices”

I’m not a massive diner fan, I must be honest. If I go out for food it’s usually Italian, Spanish or fast food. I’ve always found any American diner I’ve been to a dressed up version of Wimpy with bad burgers, grumpy staff and a sticky floor.

Then came Ed’s Diner, The Grosvenor shopping centre was partially refurbished last year and with it came an Ed’s diner. I had seen one in Liverpool but due to previous experiences I didn’t bother to even try it: my mistake!

My lunch date had a 50% off voucher so I decided to give it a go, and it always looks really busy. I have been once before for food, but I’ll just review this visit.

We were welcomed into a booth seat.. I dread booths, I constantly think I’m never going to fit.. but I did! The restaurant was about 50-60% full yet there was no staff rushing around which was nice. There were trays coming out of the kitchen looking and smelling absolutely divine!

Our drinks orders were taken, bottomless drinks are by far the greatest invention.. I get ridiculously thirsty! I had sprite and LD had coffee, also bottomless!

I needed the loo.. I dread New loos and worry they’ll be awful, however after 3 flights of stairs (I nearly worked off my burger!) The toilets were absolutely beautiful, a long thin line of individual toilets. All enclosed with sinks and mirrors, beautiful sparkling tiles and clean floors, they smelled beautiful and had good lighting! a definite 10/10!

So back to the meal, I ordered mine with no tomato or onion, as I can’t abide raw onion and tomatoes and I’d rather not waste them! I added an extra burger for £2. I felt like a meercat waiting for our food, my little head constantly popping up! Then I saw it.. the tray with our food on. It looked absolutely amazing, a little bucket of onion rings, a pot of the only slaw I’ve ever liked and bacon and cheese topped fries… A must try!

The burger was juicy, and had the right crust, everything was in proportion and if you can’t eat it all (like my LD) a box is quickly provided! The onion rings were crispy on the outside, but soft and juicy on the inside. The slaw tasted of sweet cabbage with a subtle hint of parsley. The bun tasted like real bread… Not filled with air!

We chose two songs on the mini table top jukebox for 20p each (goes to action for hunger charity) Which was fun! It added a little extra something!

My LD had an Ed’s card gets you money off, free food and points to spend!

Ed’s diner you have changed my diner thoughts and I may never enjoy a burger quite as much again!

 Our waitress ‘Panda’ was incredibly attentive without pushing, she noticed when I had finished my drink and waited until she was 110% sure we had finished eating before clearing plates. 

What I ate: 

Big bubba bacon ‘n’ cheese (ed’s plate)
£11.95 + £2 for extra burger

2x beef burgers
Lettuce
Pickles
Bun
Cheese
Bacon
Ed’s diner sauce
Onion rings
Slaw
Fries – with bacon and cheese sauce

Bottomless sprite £2.95

See their menu

Scores -out of 10

Food ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Service ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Toilets ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Length of wait ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Value for money ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Atmosphere ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I’d recommend a visit to an ed’s near you!

Love Sooz x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks delish but were there any healthier options available? (Just being devil’s advocate here) not exactly a slimming meal (But a lovely happy smiley picture of you)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There were, grilled chicken and salads available.. I popped a link to the menu if you wanted to have a quick peek.. you can also ask for no bun or whatever you would want…. Make your own really! Xx

      Like

      1. Next time you go, I look forward to a review of those items. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha! No problem! I’ve had the grilled chicken before and it was one of the best I’ve had… That chicken must have been the Katie Price of chickens! Love Sooz x

          Like

Leave a Reply

