The Skinny Bakery: Review 

The Skinny Bakery was founded in 2013 by keen homebaker Mariella Forte, she studied philosophy at University, and inspired by skinny lattes and a keen interest in the science behind baking, She experimented to make delicious recipes with a fraction of the calories!

– The Skinny Bakery

I won a £29.99 Skinny Bakery Gift box to share (fat chance of that) or to freeze! 

Inside it contained:

  • 1x Skinny mini Coconut bites 212 calories, vegan, sugar & wheat free ❄
  • 1 x Skinny mini flapjacks 202 calories. ❄
  • 2x Double chocolate meringue cookies 141 calories, egg whites and dairy free chocolate ❄
  • 2x Skinny Chocolate pearls 202 calories, low fat & a good source of protein ❄
  • 1x Skinny beetroot pearls 169 calories ❄
  • 1 x Skinny sweet potato brownies 169 calories, gluten & dairy free 
  • 3 x Skinny choc chip cookies (5 or 6 in each bag) 187 calories, dairy free. 
  • 3x skinny gingerbread (4 in each bag) 109 calories 

Products I froze and defrosted

They were delivered by courier on the day I asked for, all the products arrived in good condition and the little postcard and logo on the box were a nice touch.

The reviews

Coconut bites 

I like coconut, but these were really not for me. Unfortunately I didn’t eat any, as the first one I tried ended up in a tissue. I was really sad, as I wanted to like it! 
❎ 0/5 


Chocolate Meringue cookies 

These were absolutely immense! I loved them especially with a cup of tea. They were chewy and so chocolatey, with some little chocolate chunks! Definitely a must buy on your list!

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 5/5



Chocolate Pearls 

The words tofu and cream made me recoile in horror.. I’m not a huge fan of either… Until now. It was like the best, richest chocolate cake, but with a slightly tarte centre… The only thing that made me sad was when I finished them- ** tip** heated up with choc shot original- death by chocolate! 

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 5/5


Beetroot pearls

Although these were tasty, I’m not a massive beetroot fan, if you were though, they were moist, flavoursome and not too sweet!

🌟🌟🌟 3/5


Sweet Potato brownies

Sweet Potato… Brownies? Potato in a cake? Well I’m won over, these were amazingly good! Moist with no hint of potato, and so light and fluffy! The almonds made them that bit nuttier! Definitely another one for your basket! 

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 5/5

Flapjack bites 

 I ate these for breakfast, and they were just sweet enough with the oats still having some texture to them. I felt like I was eating a healthy chewy bar, but it being far tastier than the usual newsagents offerings! 


Chocolate chip cookies 

These are chewy and ever so slightly salty little shapes. Perfect with a coffee and just the right amount of spice! Much better than your old digestive and more filling! 

🌟🌟🌟🌟 4/5


Gingerbread men

Last, but my absolute favourite for pure nostalgia alone. These taste like the gingerbread men my dad used to buy me warm from the bakers on a Saturday morning when I was a child! They’re spice is perfect, they’re a perfect mix between a chew and a crunch and their happy faces won’t fail to make you smile! I wish I had a never ending supply! 

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 5/5 


All together, it was a lovely prize and it has made me think a little more about my dessert choices! 

 Overall scores 

Delivery : 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 

Packaging: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Products:🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Taste: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Value for money (if I had paid): 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Thank you for the introduction to the world of the skinny baker. 

Love Sooz x

Skinny Bakery Products and stockists are available on their website

They are also on Instagram

And Twitter

They have a current offer of buy 5 or more products and get free UK delivery (terms and conditions apply)




Leave a Reply

