No social media Monday- the review!

Every morning, EVERY SINGLE MORNING…. 

I wake up, check my phone, bleary eyed, I read my messages, emails, check Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, my blog!! This continues throughout the day! 

I don’t really wake up properly… My phone is in my hand from the moment I wake up… 

To when I sleep! Deciding to take a day off once a week is probably a good thing. If only to lower my radiation levels! 

Last night I went to sleep after midnight… What do I do when I have no social media to look at…. Erm?? 

I downloaded a book from the kindle app! It took absolutely ages for me to finally get to sleep! 

Then when I did, I kicked the cupboard at the end of the bed and was sure I had broken my ankle!- I’m a drama queen!

The amount of times I’ve nearly clicked on a little icon just to check! I feel like a smoker craving my next nicotine high! 

 It’s not a great day so far (it’s actually a massive pile of shit if I’m honest) and social media is definitely a good way of  coping. I can take a picture and no one can see the feelings behind it. No one knows. It’s probably like that with nearly everyone who posts on Instagram. 

Watching funny videos on facebook and Instagram is instant escapism. But I’m so busy escaping, real life is passing me by I’m not seeing the good stuff. I’m so busy taking pictures, I’m not enjoying it for what it really is.

The advantage of no social media is definitely that I’ve buzzed around like a little busy bee, Washing and housework all done, time in the sunshine, I cooked a mini steak roast dinner complete with Yorkshire puddings and I’ve had a bath and plaited my hair! 

Now, I’m watching Olympic boxing! Actually watching tv, instead of one eye on the tv and one on my phone! Terrified I’ll miss something! 
I’ve got to admit I opened Instagram once, as I was going to post my lunch pic .

I didn’t see anything, but it was just habit! 

My day has definitely improved, that could be for a number of reasons, but getting everything done has definitely improved my mood and the way I feel! 

All those endorphins must be flying around! 

I napped, and dreamt I was on Facebook, and Instagram.. I practically woke up in a cold sweat terrified I had broken my self imposed rule!

I usually just use Facebook for my news stories,However if I read about the celebrity big brother scandal or some other trashy news one more time.. I’ll lose my remaining brain cell I’m sure of it!

 I actually read a news site, it wasn’t much better but I learned some news about the Olympics. 

I made my dinner pretty and then realised I won’t be posting it (yes, a little violin is playing behind me!), the sky is beautiful, and Holly has whiskers just desperate to be photographed…. Why can’t I take a photograph without posting it? Just for me? If I don’t post it, did it really happen? Hmm….

There’s only 4 hours and 30 minutes until midnight… That’s how bad it’s gotten, but it shows me that I’ve gone all day without it, what’s another few hours… Nothing! 

Main points 

°I’ve had the focus upon other things 

° I’ve enjoyed more

°My phone battery is still on 95% 

°I’ve taken less pictures 

° I felt less pressure to like ALL the posts

Negatives 

°FOMO (fear of missing out) was definitely present 

°I missed my Instagram fam 

°I got really bored on the loo… Air freshener cans just aren’t what they were! 
Kalms night- Check!

Painkillers- Check!

Hydrated- Check! 

Goodnight Monday!

Love Sooz x

10 thoughts on “No social media Monday- the review!

  1. I wake up like this, I have to stop as my morning flies by. But during the day I’m pretty good at putting it down. I know it’s hard, but try and give yourself a period of time between checking, then when you’ve done that try extending it. Life does become more meaningful when the blasted thing gets put away! lol

    Like

  2. Ahh well I’ve just started this little blog as a bit of fun and find I’m always on it and thinking about it, I’m gonna post once in the morning and once at night, otherwise nothing is getting done X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

